Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Close



Powered by people

Executive Director

Ash Solar

Ash Solar serves as the Executive Director for the Achievement Schools. Prior to that role, he worked in the Oakland Unified School District leading a wide range of human capital initiatives.  He began his career as 4th grade bilingual teacher in Houston through Teach For America and is grateful to have participated in the Education Pioneers Summer Fellows Program as well as the Broad Residency.  He has a BA from Dartmouth College, and an MBA and ME from Stanford University.


Chris Barbic

Chris became superintendent of the ASD in the spring of 2011. He was a 1992 Teach for America Corps Member in Houston, where he taught reading for 6 years. Chris founded the award-winning YES Prep Public Schools in 1998.

Read More

Portfolio & Accountability

Malika Anderson

Malika is the Chief Portfolio Officer of the Achievement School District, where she leads the authorization and start-up support of charter school operators, and the assessment and accountability system for all ASD schools.

Read More

New Schools Director

Margo Roen

Margo Roen is the Director of New Schools for the ASD and brings her significant teaching and leadership experience to Tennessee from New Orleans.

Read More


Rich Haglund

Rich previously served as the director of charter schools for the Tennessee Department of Education, general counsel to the Tennessee Board of Education, and as an assistant attorney general.

Read More

Chief of Staff

Elliot Smalley

Elliot Smalley became the ASD’s Chief of Staff in April, 2012. He leads the ASD’s communications and strategy efforts and seeks to ensure the ASD inspires, engages, and compels people inside and outside its schools.

Read More

School Leadership

Nataki Gregory

Nataki Gregory is Interim Principal of Westside Achievement Elementary school and the Director of Leadership Development for the Achievement School District, focusing on instructional support and professional learning for leaders and teachers.

Read More


Elizabeth Genco

Elizabeth Genco serves as Senior Director of Operations for the Achievement Schools in the Frayser neighborhood of Memphis.

Read More


Lesley Brown

Lesley is the Director of Strategic Talent Initiatives for the ASD where she works to create the best place for talented professionals to grow a career in education.

Read More

Knowledge Management

Josh Czupryk

Josh is the Data and Student Information Manager for the Achievement School District. In his work, he ensures our teachers, leaders, and support staff members have most important information necessary to better serve our students.

Read More

Talent Recruitment

Kimberly Branch

Kimberly Branch is the Director of Talent Recruitment at the Achievement School District.

Read More


Anna Russo

Anna Russo spends her time recruiting the best teachers in the country to join our team. She is a former middle school science teacher. Anna graduated from the University of Texas in Austin and is a 2010 Teach For America Memphis Alumna.

Read More

Community Engagement

Teddy King

Teddy King is a former Westside Middle School Teacher and the Director of Community Engagement.

Read More


Jessica Jackson

Jessica Jackson is the principal of Corning Achievement Elementary School, where she and her teachers are fired up to provide every student with an incredible experience—and engage parents like never before—this year.

Read More


James Dennis

James is the principal of Frayser Achievement Elementary School, where he and his teachers have amazing things planned for students, parents, and community members this year. Go Rams!

Read More


Debra Broughton

Debra Broughton is the Principal of Whitney Achievement Elementary School. Debra has served in school leadership roles at George Washington Carver and Westside Middle School.

Read More