Office of Instructional Support

Department Staff



Alethea Henry
Chief of Instructional Support 
& Science Director
alethea.henry@tnasd.org

Raven Hawes
Director of Mathematics
raven.hawes@tnasd.org

Jo’Quita Sanders
Director of Literacy
jsanders@tnasd.org

Kiedra Anderson
Science Specialist
kiedra.anderson@tnasd.org

Angela Brumfield
Math Specialist 
angela.brumfield@tnasd.org

Cheronda Thompson
Literacy Specialist
cheronda.thompson@tnasd.org

Instructional Support

Because support for teachers must be ongoing, building capacity in school-based content leaders is critical. Therefore, the support provided to schools will be done in collaboration with school-based content leads. This can involve any one or a combination of the following:

  • Collaborative Instructional Walkthroughs
  • School-based Professional Development Support
  • Coaching
  • District-Wide Professional Development
  • Resource Sharing

Department Goals

To build the capacity of content leads by: 

  • Establishing collaborative partnerships with principals and content leads
  • Providing high-quality feedback and actionable recommendations

To ensuring access to high-quality instruction for all students by: 

  • Providing multiple learning opportunities aimed at improving content and pedagogical knowledge
  • Engaging in collaborative walkthroughs as a tool for continuously improving instructional practices

To build the capacity of content leads by: 

  • Establishing collaborative partnerships with principals and content leads
  • Providing high-quality feedback and actionable recommendations

To ensuring access to high-quality instruction for all students by: 

  • Providing multiple learning opportunities aimed at improving content and pedagogical knowledge.
  • Engaging in collaborative walkthroughs as a tool for continuously improving instructional practices

Important Links

AIS PD Calendar 

KickUp Login 

STEMScopes Login –

Defined Learning Login –

EL Login –

Eureka Login –

Additional Resources